Press Release For DB3 II, Feb.3, 2015

For Immediate Release February 3, 2015

David Barrett Trio sophomore release
“DB3 II” charting in Canada on launch day

Toronto – Internationally acclaimed Instrumental Progressive Rock group David Barrett Trio (David Barrett, Jason Farrar, Alexander “Sascha” Tukatsch) released their second album David Barrett Trio II, today and celebrated seeing that the prerelease has been charting for the last 3 weeks in a large Canadian market.

The new release was recorded in Fall 2014 at BAHM Studio in Toronto, Canada. While being unmistakably “DB3”, the 10-song set presents a distinct evolution in composition. There is cohesion in the band that can only come from the musical mind melding that their extensive stage performance schedule in 2014 gave them. The trio is clearly at the top of their game and the material teases and challenges the listener to stand and take notice.

The Trio evolved their recording process as well, taking the helm on the tracking and mixing, while still maintaining the beneficial mentoring offered by friend of the band and Canadian music legend Alex Lifeson (RUSH), who produced the epic closing track “The Elegant Universe”.

DB3 II also expands their sonic universe, featuring guest vocalist Michael Sadler (SAGA) on Coppermine, with lyrics by long time collaborator Paul Reid. Legendary Celtic guitarist Tony McManus also makes a guest appearance, lending his flare for Far Eastern sonics to The Elegant Universe and David Barrett presents a stellar acoustic solo performance on “The Kid Stays In The Picture”.

David Barrett: “We’ve learned to imagine our album as a complete experience. We crafted this set of songs to give our new friends, fans and fanatics a familiar, yet evolved experience from our first album. We’re very proud to be sharing our journey and we’re training our sights on “what’s next”, which includes festival shows and events in Spring/Summer 2015”.

Produced by David Barrett Trio, except The Elegant Universe: Produced by David Barrett Trio and Alex Lifeson
Engineered and mixed by Alexander “Sascha” Tukatsch
The Kid Stays In The Picture recorded by David Barrett at Noisy Trade

Mastered by Phil Demetro at The Lacquer Channel
All music written by David Barrett, except Coppermine: Barrett/Reid
Arranged by David Barrett Trio and Alex Lifeson
Photography and Design: HotHouse Creative Inc.

David Barrett: guitar, laud, mandolin, steel
Jason Farrar: bass guitar
Alexander “Sascha” Tukatsch: drums and percussion

Tony McManus: Sitar Guitar on The Elegant Universe
Michael Sadler: Vocals on Coppermine

1. Quark
2. Atomsmasher
3. Chasing Sound
4. Ravenswood
5. Rotary Park
6. The Kid Stays In The Picture
7. Coppermine
8. Romero
9. Dagmar
10. The Elegant Universe